Meet Oak Creek’s Government Officials


Meet the Mayor

Say “Hello” to Melissa Dobbins, Mayor of Oak Creek, Colorado.

Melissa Dobbins, initially disregarded her father's advice to engage in local governance. However, she now embraces it with over two decades of life experience and two and a half years as a Town Trustee. She recognizes the necessity of active involvement in the town's preservation, sustainability, and growth. As an inclusive leader, she aspires to unite the community and prioritize economic development, affordable housing, infrastructure, transportation, public safety, and support for local initiatives. Committed to Oak Creek's small-town essence, she values collaboration with stakeholders while maintaining awareness of biases. Melissa's technical expertise in emergency care underscores her readiness for crises, ensuring residents' safety. As Mayor, she pledges transparent, respectful governance, fostering open communication and embracing change for Oak Creek's future.

E-mail: [email protected]
Phone: 304-445-5751

Town Board Members

Bernard “Bernie” Gagne

PO Box 82
Oak Creek, CO 80467
(970) 819-3624
[email protected]

Julie Gregory

P.O. Box133
Oak Creek, CO 80467

[email protected]

Christopher Hedberg

P.O. Box 675
Oak Creek, CO 80467
[email protected]

Sascha Stanger

P.O. Box 462
Oak Creek, CO 80467
[email protected]

Kelly McElfish

P.O. Box 506
Oak Creek, CO 80467
(970) 846-1340

[email protected]

Town Administrator / Clerk

Meet Oak Creek’s Town Administrator/Clerk, David Torgler
David was hired by the Town Board of Trustees as the Interim Town Administrator/Clerk in September 2020 and became the permanent Town Administrator/Clerk in April 2021. The position is appointed by the Board of Trustees and serves at the pleasure of the Board.

The Town Administrator is the chief administrative officer of the Town of Oak Creek and is immediately responsible and accountable to the Board of Trustees. The Town Administrator directs the day-to-day operations of the town government. Areas of responsibility include: making recommendations to the Board for procedures regarding the efficient and effective administration of all municipal affairs, and carrying out policies and objectives established for the town by the board. The Town Administrator/Clerk is authorized to establish temporary positions for a specific purpose and for a limited time.

The Town Clerk performs and administers a variety of statutory duties for the town, including local elections, maintaining an accurate record of all official acts of the Board of Trustees, and maintaining town records.

E-mail: [email protected]
Phone: (970) 736-2422 ext. 202
Fax: (970) 736-8225

20220826_140240 (1)

Planning Commission Members:

Andy Benjamin – Chair: – (970) 846-0117

Chris Mitchell – (970) 819-2707

Kent Horner – (970) 261-1872 

Lukas Holm - (612)-597-8552

Planning Commission

The Planning Commission meets as needed, usually meeting in the spring, summer, and fall months, or as long as the building season is going on. Typically, any new building or site plans or changes of use are reviewed by the Planning Commission, which then provides a recommendation to the Town Board for their consideration and final decision.

Vacancies on the Planning Commission occur from time to time. If you are interested in being a member of our Town’s Planning Commission, please submit a letter of interest to the Town Administrator/Clerk at [email protected]; drop off your letter at Town Hall, 129 Nancy Crawford Blvd; or, by mail to the Town of Oak Creek; P.O. Box 128, Oak Creek, CO 80467. In your letter, indicate the reason for your interest and any kind of relevant background knowledge you have. Only residents of the Town of Oak Creek can be members of the Town’s Planning Commission.

Meetings start at 6:00 p.m. at Town Hall and are scheduled to be held on the third Wednesday of each month.

View Agendas and Minutes

Public Works

The Public Works Department oversees the town’s utility operations (including electric distribution, water treatment and distribution, and wastewater collection and treatment), street maintenance and snow removal, sidewalks, stormwater conveyance, and parks’ maintenance as well as the Town’s fleet maintenance.
Questions or concerns should be directed to:

Tom Holliday
Public Works Director (970) 736-2459
[email protected]

After hours (utility emergencies only):
(970) 846-9079


Treasurer and Deputy Clerk

Contact information for our Treasurer and our Deputy Clerk is as follows:

Jennifer Hewes – Treasurer
(970) 736-2422 
[email protected]

 Utility Billing / Deputy Clerk
(970) 736-2422 
[email protected]

Budget and Finance Info


ATTENTION: if you are in immediate need of emergency services,
please call 911 from the nearest telephone.

Routt County Emergency Services Staff:

Routt County Emergency Services Staff:

David “Mo” DeMorat – Emergency Operations Director

E-mail: [email protected]
Phone: (970) 870-5551
Mobile: (970) 846-1552
Fax: (970) 870-5561
Twitter: @RouttOEM

Alyssa Wilhelme- Emergency Management Specialsit

Email: [email protected]

Phone: 970-870-5549


Office of Emergency Management

522 Lincoln Avenue, 2nd Floor
P.O. Box 773598
Steamboat Springs, Colorado 80477
Facebook: Routt County Office of Emergency Management